The 2022 AHA Prizes and Awards Shortlists

We are delighted to announce that The Convict Valley by Mark Dunn has been shortlisted for the 2022 Kay Daniels Award, recognising outstanding original research with a bearing on Australian convict history and heritage.

The winner will be announced on the 30th June.

The rest of the shortlist and more information can be found here.

The Convict Valley

by Mark Dunn

The story of the second British penal settlement in Australia, where a notoriously brutal convict regime became the template for penal stations in other states. Mark Dunn explores relations between the white settlers and the local Aboriginal landholders, and uncovers a long forgotten massacre.

More details