2021 Australian History Prize shortlist

We are delighted to announce that People of the River by Grace Karskens has been shortlisted for the 2021 Australian History Prize at the NSW Premier’s History Awards!

The winner will be announced on 3rd September.

The rest of the shortlist and more information can be found here.

People of the River

by Grace Karskens

A landmark history of Australia's first successful settler farming area, which was on the Hawkesbury-Nepean River. Award-winning historian Grace Karskens uncovers the everyday lives of ordinary people in the early colony, both Aboriginal and British.

More details