The 2020 International Booker Prize Winner

We are delighted to announce that The Discomfort of the Evening by Marieke Lucas Rijneveld, translated (from the original Dutch) by Michele Hutchinson has won the 2020 International Booker Prize!

The International Booker Prize is awarded annually for a single book, translated into English and published in the UK or Ireland. The vital work of translators is celebrated, with the prize money divided equally between the author and translator.

See more information here.

The Discomfort of Evening

by Marieke Lucas Rijneveld

The sensational Dutch bestseller: Marieke Lucas Rijneveld's extraordinary portrait of a farming family distorted by grief, translated by Michele Hutchison.

More details



AustralianVogels2023 380  590 px