Reflections on a Marine Venus

A Companion to the Landscape of Rhodes

Lawrence Durrell
AUD $19.99

Lose yourself in this classic travelogue evoking the Greek island of Rhodes after World War IIby the king of travel writing and real-life family member of The Durrells in Corfu.

'A magician ... Durrell enchants.' - The Times

'A lovely book ... Makes people feel happy ... [So] pleasurable.' - Observer

World War II is finally over, and after four torturous years serving the Crown in Egypt, Lawerence Durrell seeks peace in the landscapes he has loved ever since his youth in Corfu: Mediterranean islands.

He is posted to the Greek island of Rhodes, and from his first dip in the dazzling blue Aegean - which jolts his soul awake for the first time in years - he immerses himself in the rhythms and moods of local life, befriending eccentric villagers and quaffing ouzo as through the war was a distant dream.

With his dazzling poet's eye and passion for excavating ancient history, Durrell recaptures the mythic Rhodes of legend, of knights and crusades, that lies beneath its war-ravaged surface. It is a place that you will never forget.

'Like long letters from a civilized and very funny friend - the prose as luminous as the Mediterranean air he loves.' - Time

Author bio:

Lawrence Durrell was a British novelist, poet, dramatist, and travel writer. Born in 1912 in India to British colonial parents, he was sent to school in England and later moved to Corfu with his family - a period which his brother Gerald fictionalised in My Family and Other Animals- later filmed as ITV's The Durrells in Corfu - and which he himself described in Prospero's Cell. The first of Durrell's island books, this was followed by Reflections on a Marine Venus on Rhodes; Bitter Lemons, on Cyprus, which won the Duff Cooper Memorial Prize; and, later, The Greek Islands.

Durrell's first major novel, The Black Book, was published in 1938 in Paris, where he befriended Henry Miller and Anais Nin - and it was praised by T. S. Eliot, who published his poetry in 1943. A wartime sojourn in Egypt inspired his bestselling masterpiece, The Alexandria Quartet (Justine, Balthazar, Mountolive and Clea) which he completed in his new home in Southern France, where in 1974 he began The Avignon Quintet. When he died in 1990, Durrell was one of the most celebrated writers in British history.

Category: Travel writing
ISBN: 9780571362394
Publisher: Faber
Imprint: Faber Non Fiction
Pub Date: September 2021
Page Extent: 240
Format: Paperback - B format
Subject: Geographical discovery & exploration