Selected Poems

A. D. Hope
AUD $19.99
Availability: Print on demand

An important collection of poetry from one of Australia's greatest poets.

This selection of A.D. Hope's poetry was published in 1992, the first in Australia since 1973. It includes pieces from all his major collections, including The Wandering Islands, first published in 1955, his subsequent collections A Late Picking, Antechinus and The Age of Reason, and Orpheus (1991). It provides an overview of a career that spanned over sixty years, and is a chance to look afresh at an enigmatic and compelling figurewidely regarded as one of the finest English-language poets of the twentieth century.

Author bio:

A.D. Hope was born in Cooma in 1907, the son of a Presbyterian minister. After a period working as a schoolteacher and lecturer, he became professor of English at Canberra University College, later part of the ANU, and taught there until 1967, when he became professor emeritus. He first came to public attention in the 1940s as a controversial literary critic, although he had been publishing poetry since the 1930s. His first collection of poems, The Wandering Islands, was not published until 1955, possibly because of its erotic content, but by then his reputation was assured. His second volume of poetry, Collected Poems 1930-1965, was published in 1966 and expanded in 1972. His later poems appeared in The Age of Reason (1985) and Orpheus (1991). He died in 2000 in Canberra.

Category: Poetry
ISBN: 9781743313800
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Imprint: A&U House Of Books
Pub Date: September 2012
Page Extent: 276
Format: Paperback - B format
Age: 0 - 0
Subject: Poetry