The French Gift

Kirsty Manning
AUD $32.99
9781760528096.jpg

A World War II story of female friendship, longing and sacrifice through war and loss, bringing together the present and the past.

'Kirsty Manning has delivered yet again with this epic novel about women, love and heartbreak. With passion and sensitivity, Manning takes the reader on a journey that is near-impossible to tear yourself away from. Without a doubt her finest work. A triumph!' Sally Hepworth, author of The Good Sister


'Manning's multilayered story is both terrifying and triumphant. Her talent for a surprising twist makes this story a must for her fans.' Publishers Weekly


A forgotten manuscript threatens to unravel the past …
Fresnes Prison, 1940: Margot Bisset, a former maid from the Riviera, finds herself in a prison cell with writer and French Resistance fighter, Josephine Murant. Together, they are transferred to a work camp in Germany, where the secrets they share will bind them for generations to come.

Present-day Paris: Evie Black lives above her botanical bookshop with her teenage son, Hugo. Nursing a broken heart, Evie receives an unexpected letter; she clutches at an opportunity to spend a magical summer with Hugo on the Cote d'Azur.

It's here, on the Riviera, that the past envelops them and Evie attempts to unravel the official story of a famous novelist. If she succeeds, a murder from a lifetime ago may be solved.

Inspired by a true story of iconic French Resistance fighter, Agnes Humbert, whose secret journal shed light on a little-known aspect of World War II, The French Gift will captivate readers from beginning to unforgettable end.

Praise for The Lost Jewels:

'A tale of transferred wealth, power and passion, Manning's novel will appeal to fans of Penny Vincenzi, Paula McLain and Elizabeth Kostova.' Booklist

'An historical fiction author whose stories travel and touch the world.' Heather Morris, author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz

'Effortless flitting from one epoch to another underpin Kirsty Manning's cut-above historical fiction novels.' Australian Women's Weekly

Author bio:

Kirsty Manning grew up in northern New South Wales. A country girl with wanderlust, her travels and studies have taken her through most of Europe, the east and west coasts of the United States and pockets of Asia.

Kirsty's first novel was the enchanting The Midsummer Garden published in 2017. Her second book, the bestselling The Jade Lily, was published in 2018 and her third, The Lost Jewels, in 2020. Her novels are also published in the US and in Europe.

Kirsty is a partner in the award-winning Melbourne wine bar Bellota, and the Prince Wine Store in Sydney and Melbourne. She lives in Melbourne, Victoria.

Category: Fiction
ISBN: 9781760528096
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Imprint: Allen & Unwin
Pub Date: March 2021
Page Extent: 328
Format: Paperback - C format
Subject: Fiction & related items

Read the opening chapter:

The French Gift Online Sampler by Allen & Unwin

2022-Vogel-rectangle-tile

Reading Groups

It's a great time to be in a reading group! Discover new titles and books you might not normally pick up and buy, or re-examine books you already know and love. You can make your reading experience richer and more rewarding by being a member of a reading group and meeting others who are interested in sharing their reading experience. ... find out more

For the latest Reading Group Notes, news and competitions subscribe here