Kathryn Heyman

Kathryn Heyman is the author of five novels, the lastest of which is Floodline, a vivid imagining of rescue, recovery and redemption.She has won numerous awards including an Arts Council of England Writers Award,the Wingate and the Southern Arts Awards, and been nominated for the Orange Prize, the Scottish Writer of the Year Award, the Edinburgh Fringe Critics' Awards, the Kibble Prize, and the West Australian Premier's Book Awards. She's written several radio plays for BBC Radio including adaptations of her own work.

"Heyman's cool-eyed compassion for her characters draws out their humanity while staring hard at their flaws. The marvel is that the frailty she discovers in her women and men turns out to be the foundation of their greatest strengths. It is a paradox notated in language of poetic force and loveliness. A moving, graceful and fiercely interrogated work."
Geordie Williamson, Chief Literary Critic for The Australian

"Kathryn Heyman's fifth novel has a parable-like quality reminiscent of Cormac McCarthy's The Road ... Indomitably redemptive."
The Weekend Australian

"Heyman tackles diverse topics in this ambitious novel, from the limits of disaster relief to family secrets, from the sanctity of life to homophobia. Although her portrait of evangelical Christianity is scathing, it's also subtle, especially in her superb portraits of the boys' spiritual worlds... Floodline is a startling and confronting - and yet open-hearted - novel."
Adelaide Advertiser

Books by Kathryn Heyman

The Breaking

Published: May 2021

Nominated for the Scottish Writer of the Year Award and the Orange Prize, The Breaking is a unique, lyrical testament to the power of the human spirit.

Fury

Published: May 2021

A raw, painfully honest, heartbreaking account of a young woman raising herself out of abuse and poverty to become her own hero.

Storm and Grace

Published: January 2017

Their love knows no limits - but the further you go, the more dangers there are. Love becomes obsession and lust becomes control. A riveting thriller in the tradition of Gone Girl and Before I Go to Sleep.

Floodline

Published: September 2013

On the eve of a huge gay mardis gras a city is destroyed by a flood - a moving, passionate, original and utterly fresh novel from the acclaimed author of Captain Starlight's Apprentice.

Back to Authors List